Alliance Sahel
Investing today in the Sahel for the Africa of tomorrow

The origins of the Sahel Alliance

In July 2017, France, Germany and the European Union, along with the African Development Bank and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), launched the Sahel Alliance, an international cooperation platform to do more and better in the Sahel region. Since its launch, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and Luxembourg have joined the initiative.

The objective of the Sahel Alliance is to enhance the stability and global development of the region and, with this in mind, it is financing and coordinating over 500 projects with the G5 Sahel countries to address all current challenges — security, demographic, economic and social.

 

4 founding principles

By 2022, the Sahel Alliance wants to provide an appropriate and effective response to the challenges facing the G5 Sahel member countries based on 4 principles :

Six priority and structuring sectors on which to focus work
Mutual accountability between the partners and G5 Sahel States based on shared results
New modes of action and more innovative and flexible means of funding
Reinforced commitment in the most vulnerable zones for greater consideration of security challenges

The fields of action

  • Agriculture, rural development and food security
    Agriculture, rural development and food security

    In the Sahel region, two out of three inhabitants live off agriculture and breeding livestock. However, yields are low and over a third of crops are lost every year, so food insecurity is high and this situation is worsened by climate change. One of the Sahel Alliance’s priorities is the development of sustainable agriculture that is climate-resistant and able to reduce poverty and malnutrition.

    More
  • Decentralization and basic services
    Decentralization and basic services

    Access to drinking water, primary health care or social protection is still limited in the Sahel region, especially outside large cities. The region is also marked by a high rate of infant mortality. Bringing administrations closer to their citizens means decentralization, thanks to the transfer of budgetary management to local authority level. The Sahel Alliance is committed to reinforcing the needs of local authorities in terms of providing basic services.

    More
  • Domestic security
    Domestic security

    The increase in cross-border threats in the Sahel region (terrorism, trafficking, and organized crime) is challenging the domestic security forces and law-enforcement authorities, which lack human, financial and material resources. The Sahel Alliance is also intervening to establish a relationship of confidence between security forces and citizens.

    More
  • Education and youth employment
    Education and youth employment

    The birthrate remains high in the G5 Sahel countries, while life expectancy is increasing. Creating economic opportunities for the population and, first and foremost, for young people, is a priority for the Sahel Alliance. This calls for more generalized access to teaching and job opportunities by 2022.

    More
  • Energy and climate
    Energy and climate

    There is an electrification rate of around 20% in all the G5 Sahel countries; this is four times lower than the global average and two times less than the average of countries in Sub-Saharan Africa. Public action and innovation can help to reduce this gap. Since the region enjoys plentiful sunshine, the Sahel Alliance intends to increase the number of people with access to reliable, affordable and renewable electricity by 2022.

    More
  • Governance
    Governance

    The G5 Sahel member countries face a lack of institutional, territorial and financial governance. Citizens are demanding more justice and wish to participate more in the democratic life of their country. A combination of administrative hold-ups, corruption and poor resource redistribution means that citizens have little confidence in their government. Reinforcing the social contract in the G5 Sahel member countries by 2022 is a goal for the Sahel Alliance.

    More

The projects

From now until 2022, the Sahel Alliance and its members are taking action through more than 500 projects. Discover a selection here :

All projects

Alliance Sahel
Investir aujourd’hui au Sahel pour l’Afrique de demain.

Les origines de l’Alliance Sahel

En juillet 2017, la France, l’Allemagne et l’Union Européenne, accompagnées de la Banque mondiale, de la Banque africaine de développement et du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement lancent l’Alliance Sahel, une plate-forme de coopération internationale pour intervenir davantage et mieux au Sahel. Depuis son lancement, l’Italie, l’Espagne, le Royaume-Uni et le Luxembourg ont rejoint l’initiative.

Avec un objectif de stabilisation et de développement global de la région, l’Alliance Sahel finance et coordonne avec les pays du G5 Sahel plus de 500 projets pour répondre à tous leurs défis actuels, sécuritaires, démographiques, économiques et sociaux.

4 principes fondateurs

A l’horizon 2022, l’Alliance Sahel veut apporter une réponse adaptée et efficace aux défis rencontrés par les pays membres du G5 Sahel en s’appuyant sur 4 principes :

Six secteurs prioritaires et structurants dans lesquels se concentre l’action
Une redevabilité réciproque entre les membres et les pays du G5 Sahel sur des résultats partagés
De nouveaux modes d’action et des méthodes de financements plus innovants et flexibles
Un engagement renforcé dans les zones les plus vulnérables pour une meilleure prise en compte des enjeux de sécurité

Les secteurs d'intervention

  • Agriculture, développement rural et sécurité alimentaire
    Agriculture, développement rural et sécurité alimentaire

    Au Sahel, deux habitants sur trois vivent de l’agriculture et de l’élevage. Pourtant, avec de faibles rendements et la perte de plus du tiers des récoltes chaque année, l’insécurité alimentaire est élevée, une situation aggravée par le changement climatique. Développer une agriculture durable, résistante au climat et susceptible de réduire la pauvreté et la malnutrition est une priorité pour l’Alliance Sahel.

    En savoir plus
  • Décentralisation et services de base
    Décentralisation et services de base

    Au Sahel, l’accès à l’eau potable, aux soins de santé primaire ou à la protection sociale reste limité notamment en dehors des grandes villes. La région est également marquée par un taux de mortalité infantile élevé. Le rapprochement des administrations de leurs citoyens passe par la décentralisation, grâce au transfert de la gestion budgétaire au niveau des collectivités locales. L’Alliance Sahel s’engage à renforcer les besoins des collectivités locales en termes d’offres en services de base.

    En savoir plus
  • Education et emploi des jeunes
    Education et emploi des jeunes

    La natalité reste forte dans les pays du G5 Sahel alors que l’espérance de vie augmente. Créer des opportunités économiques pour les populations et avant tout pour les plus jeunes est une priorité de l’Alliance Sahel. Cela passe par un accès à l’enseignement et aux opportunités d’emplois plus généralisé d’ici 2022.

    En savoir plus
  • Énergie et climat
    Énergie et climat

    Le taux d’électrification dans l’ensemble des pays du G5 Sahel est d’environ 20%. Un taux quatre fois inférieur à la moyenne mondiale et deux fois inférieur à la moyenne des pays d’Afrique subsaharienne. L’action publique et l’innovation peuvent contribuer à réduire cet écart. La région bénéficiant d’un fort ensoleillement, l’Alliance Sahel entend augmenter le nombre de personnes ayant accès à une électricité fiable, abordable et renouvelable d’ici 2022.

    En savoir plus
  • Gouvernance
    Gouvernance

    Les pays membres du G5 Sahel sont confrontés à un déficit de gouvernance institutionnelle, territoriale et financière. Les citoyens réclament plus de justice et souhaitent participer davantage à la vie démocratique de leur pays. Du fait des lenteurs administratives, de la corruption et de la faible redistribution des ressources, les citoyens ont peu confiance en leur gouvernement. Renforcer le contrat social dans les pays membres du G5 Sahel est un objectif de l’Alliance Sahel d’ici 2022.

    En savoir plus
  • Sécurité intérieure
    Sécurité intérieure

    La multiplication des menaces transfrontalières au Sahel (terrorisme, trafics, crime organisé), pèse sur les forces de sécurité intérieure et la justice qui manquent de moyens humains, financiers et matériels. L’Alliance Sahel intervient également pour établir une relation de confiance entre les forces de sécurité et les citoyens.

    En savoir plus

Les projets

D’ici 2022, l’Alliance Sahel et ses membres se mobilisent à travers plus de 500 projets. Découvrez en une sélection :

Tous nos projets